13 Postures and Pushing Hands Technique

This website is created to share information about Tai Chi Chuan. I would like to share what I have learned, practiced,
observed, and experienced so we can all learn from one another on topics such as application of Tai Chi yin & yang
theory, exercise techniques for good health, how to practice chi for stronger body, and self defense techniques which
are some of the common Tai Chi practitioner¡¯s research topics. First, I would like to explain about Zhang San Feng¡¯s
13 postures and Pushing Hands techniques.

13 postures in Tai Chi Chuan are based on eight methods and five positions. Five positions are composed of internal
and external. Forward, backward, left, right, and center are external. Touch (zhan), connect (lian), stick on (nian), follow (sui),
and do not separate (bu dui ding) are internal. Eight methods are also divided into internal and external. Square and
four corners are external and Peng, lu, ji, an, cai, li, zhou,and kao are eight types of internal jing.

When pushing hands, outside is posture and force kept inside the movements is jing.If you want to use jing, the root
must be on the feet. The force moves up to the legs, waist, hands, and then is released through the fingers. The purpose
of exercising the form is to acquire jing and for pushing hands to feel jing. I will explain jing of 13 postures and how
they are used during pushing hands.

Peng, Lu, Ji, An

Cai, Li, Zhou, Kao

Zhan, Lian, Nian Sui, Bu Dui Ding



This article was written by Master Cheng Hsiang Yu.

© Copyright 2008 San Fong Tai Chi Wu Shu Inc.